Season schedule for 2017/18.

The first draft of the season schedule for the new 2017 – 18 season has been uploaded ready for start of play on the 11th September.

This being an Olympic season I have tried to plan a schedule that will allow us to maximise on try curling opportunities after Spring half term in February.  Current expectation is that we will have 5 teams playing at 6pm and 8 teams playing at 8pm.  This means that there will only be 2 matches played at 6pm with the 5th team having a bye each week.  On this basis it will still require 10 weeks to complete a double round robin, which we will follow with a 2 week Christmas competition.  Please approach the bye team if you require a sub.

After Christmas the plan will be for a short (single round robin) spring league which will finish at half term allowing us to assess the situation with try curling requests after the Olympics has finished.

There will be no byes for the 8pm session this year, any 6pm players that are available to sub at 8pm please make yourselves known.  The plan for 8pm is to play a single round robin (taking 7 weeks) followed by a cup (3 weeks).  We will have a one week Christmas competition at 8pm but the final week of the Autumn session will be used to start the Spring league early in order that we can also finish the 8pm league just after spring half term to accomodate try curling if required.

Schedule as at 31st August 2017.

Teams can be found here.

Pricing information for this season can be found here.

2016 Christmas teams for 8pm.

Since the 8pm league finished last week we’re playing a fun session for the last week before Christmas.  Last year we played East v West so this year teams have been roughly based on a North / South split and will be as shown below (also from the spreadsheet here):

N1 N2 N3 N4
Richard Pougher Garry Coombs James Pougher Alastair Lyon
Malcolm Watson Margaret Meikle Alistair Reid Mike Thackray
Rachel McCann Martin Lloyd Chris Houlbrooke Peter Schofield
Ann Meikle Lisa Peters Diana Houlbrooke Jan Costello
S1 S2 S3 S4
Jamie Fletcher Rhys Phillips Adrian Meikle Andy Hannah
Simon Pougher George Hood Dawn Watson Di Hannah
Delyth Glyn Jones Gilbert Ashworth John Massey Alistair Clark
David Whomsley George Fyffe Karen Massey Helen Andrew

The plan is to play two games of 1 hour (4 ends) each.  To make sure that fits in the time the whistle will go at 8:55 and if the team with hammer have played one less stone then they may take a final shot but otherwise it’s first game over.

Winner (North or South) will be the side with highest total number of shots across their 4 teams over two games.

To keep it simple we’ll start with:

Lane B Lane C Lane D Lane E
N1 v S1 N2 v S2 N3 v S3 N4 v S4

then rotate North to the right and South to the left to give second games as

Lane B Lane C Lane D Lane E
N4 v S2 N1 v S3 N2 v S4 N3 v S1

Autumn schedule for 2016/17 – update following lack of ice on 29th November.

The Autumn schedule for the current 2016 – 17 season has been updated following the lack of ice this week.  This means that the 6pm league will now run all the way up until Christmas.  The Christmas Grand Match will now only run on the final 8pm session.

Schedule as at 2nd December 2016
Teams can be found here Teams for Autumn league as at 4th September

8pm Autumn League results – Round 8 (14/11/2016)

Here are the match results from round 8 of the 2016-17 8pm Autumn League.

14/11/2016 End Total Shot
Lane Team 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Shots Diff Ends
MWK 0 1 1 1 0 0 0 2 5 -3 4
DDH 4 0 0 0 2 1 1 0 8 3 4
AVAT 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 -6 1
MWV 0 1 2 2 1 1 7 6 5
AVAL 2 0 1 2 0 0 1 6 -1 4
CQQ 0 1 0 0 5 1 0 7 1 3
SSE 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 1 4 -4 3
AVV 1 3 1 1 0 0 2 0 8 4 5

The current league table can be found here FPOW 8pm League